Extreme Minimalism: Natural Hair

As I venture further into minimalism I enjoy simplifying my product list. This week I made the jump to “no-poo”. This is the term that’s used for the method of using baking soda instead of shampoo. I couldn’t find an “organic” or “natural” product that I liked and I still didn’t like the fact that I was buying a container each time either. As I was looking for natural makeup recipes online I came across a recipe for “no-poo” that I modified and tried. I’m not sure why I didn’t do this long ago. I love it. Then I discovered my own version of vinegar rinse for hair. Here they are for you. Feel free to share.

MB’s No-Poo Hair Recipe
2 tablespoons baking soda
1 cup cornstarch or arrowroot
1 cup water
1 capful essential oil of choice

I had a large plastic spice bottle from Costco that I re-purposed for this. It has a wide mouth and a shaker lid
that you can take on and off. It was perfect for what I needed. I simply placed all the ingredients in the bottle, replaced the shaker top and then the lid. I shook it until it was well mixed. (I shake the bottle each time right before I pour some on my head. This is a watery substance. I aim for scalp and let it drip down to the ends, let it sit for a few minutes and rinse.)

MB’s Vinegar Hair Rinse
1 cup vinegar
2 cups water
Essential oil of choice.

I shake this up in a spray bottle. If you re-purpose a cleaning agent spray bottle be sure to wash it out well with soap and water. I preferred to buy one at the dollar store. After I use my “No-poo” recipe I squeeze the water out of my hair and spray it with the vinegar rinse in the shower. Be sure to spray all areas of your hair. It will not feel as slick as when you use conditioner at this point. Your hair will smell like the essential oil and vinegar while still wet. I dry mine slightly with a towel and then let it air dry for minimal fuss. When dry your hair will be very shiny and manageable. I find that I don’t need hair products now because I have a simple hairstyle. If it becomes a bit frizzy during the day I spray again with a bit of the vinegar rinse and it tames right down. Once dry, you don’t usually smell the vinegar, only a hint of the essential oil. I like Bergamot, Lavender, Sweet Orange, or Jasmine for hair scents but I often use Peppermint oil because they say it’s good for dry hair. Be cautious not to get this rinse in your eyes.

I bought the big bag of baking soda at the local warehouse store for about $6 and two gallons of white vinegar for about $3. I also use these products to clean my home and shampoo the dog but if I didn’t I would have enough to last for months. (Note: if you use this for the dog be careful not to use on their face period.) There are no words to tell you how simply impressed I was with this method. I was always afraid the baking soda would be too harsh on my hair. Maybe the corn starch softens it a bit. I’m not sure. I just know that I keep thinking it’s too good to be true. Then I use it again and it still works great. The pleasure that I have in finding one more way to simplify my life and feel good is so rewarding. I threw away the shampoo and I will never go back. Ever.

2 thoughts on “Extreme Minimalism: Natural Hair

Leave a Reply

